Skip to content

24 hours later… more fireworks

August 9, 2010

One of the nice things about the summer in Kansai (and there are lots of things that aren’t nice–weather for example) is that there are a lot of fireworks. In the month of August, within a reasonable journey from my home, I could go to a fireworks festival every Saturday & Sunday and most weekdays too. I kinda feel sorry for stateside friends who really only see fireworks once a year. Last night there was another fireworks festival in the next city over. I was thinking of going to the event, but… instead I made some images from my balcony.

More Fireworks 1

As you can see, I couldn’t get a complete shot of the bursts, but I kind of like the way the are framed by the building and trees on the distance hillside.

More Fireworks 2

I think that the car headlight and taillight trails add a nice touch to the images as well.

More Fireworks 3

The problem with these images is they aren’t quite sharp enough for me. I used the longest lens that I have, 300mm (about 480 on the crop sensor) which filled the frame quite nicely, but it is a low quality kit lens that I’ve had for almost 15 years. It isn’t very sharp and I really ought to upgrade it, but I so rarely use a long lens that I don’t think it would be worth the money.

More Fireworks 4

This image is from the finale. I was caught off guard (even though I knew it was coming) and I overexposed the middle. Oh well. It’s still kind of nice and really not bad for a image made from my balcony.

Finally, just for fun, here is the same view taken during the day. It clearly shows the hillside, the vegetation and the building that were blocking the fireworks last night. It also shows how low quality that lens is. At the very least, I think I should upgrade to the latest version of that same kit lens. I think it comes with IS now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

